Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

This is the Pine Sawyer Beetle . It is said to be the biggest beetle in North America and if you seen the size of this beetle you may just believe it!

Checking out a wildfire burn area brought me to another log where I seen something move. Upon further investigation , this beetle emerged. In the photograph above you can see the this creature lives in the darkness. Helping to break down trees in the wild, however I have heard they do get into places where people live, since frankly we do live where they also live!

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

This photo the Pine Sawyer Beetle is in its natural environment.

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

I can not personally say I know anyone who has kept these as pets, or a feed source for another pet. Nor have I heard of these biting anyone, however it clearly looks like it could bite someone ?? I try not to handle the creatures I find to observe and photograph. Though I did move this one to see what it would do.

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

This photo shows that it does look like it has functional wings, now at this stage of life if it uses these wings to fly I did not observe for it was day time.

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

What I found interesting is, I put this beetle oh 12″ from its home? Now insects are just fascinating to me. They use scent as well as other senses  to find their way . This Pine Sawyer Beetle was no different and turned around to head back to the burned out log I found it in.

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Back to the log!

Coralie aka Mrsroadrunner: Insects Bees,Spiders &emdash; Pine Sawyer Beetle

Figured I stressed this Pine Sawyer Beetle out enough and thanked it as I left it alone to find something else to get my time and attention.

I hope you enjoyed the photos. Hoping stressing this little guy/gal out for the short time I did, then writing this will benefit many for the time this took. Thank you for coming by!

About mrsroadrunner

Nature photographer. Love the pacific northwest where I call home! http://mrsroadrunnerphotography.com
This entry was posted in mrsroadrunner, nature, oregon, photography, picture, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pine Sawyer Beetle

  1. The Pal Guy says:

    Great photos. I too spend time wandering with my camera in nature. It amazing what can come of certain adventures; such as your insect find. Check out my recent post on Sawyers:
    http://thepalguy.com/2012/06/24/life-as-a-sawyer/
    Cheers

    • Thank you Pal Guy! Oh I love the serenity of the quiet places I go for my photography! Of course recently with cougar tracks in the area I have had to bring a little protection with me, though really such wildlife does not want anything to do with us !!
      I checked out your link and of course asked a question since not only do I write about and photograph such things but am vary curious about all the living things !
      Curiosity is what keeps us doing this stuff right? :0)

  2. Pingback: Focus On: Nature Blogs | The Daily Post at WordPress.com

    • I am not real sure I know what you are talking about nature blogs, “about what you see. If you photograph a Pine Sawyer Beetle, give us some facts about it, too. Interesting geological formations in the caves near your house?”. These photographs I took of the Pine Sawyer Beetle were taken in a wildfire area which grew back in our county IE, near where we live here in Oregon.
      Not understanding what you are asking of me ?

Leave a Reply

